Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Gary & Dean win in Dick's memory

Monday 19th February 2018

Father and son take Winter League round a week after uncle Dick's death

Red sky in the morning . . .

Tuesday 6th February 2018

The sun rose over a snow-covered course this morning, but after a brief flurry of the white stuff it was soon clear again. The course was closed for a couple of hours but is now open on full greens - and they are green, not white!

Orlando Golf Trade Show 2018

Wednesday 31st January 2018

Our teaching professional, Stuart Smith, has just been to Florida to have a look around one of the foremost golfing trade shows. Here are his views and observations from the Orlando Golf Trade Show 2018.

High winds give ProAm a miss

Despite high winds and a dire forecast the players in the first Thetford Winter ProAm of the new year encountered excellent conditions on Thursday.

Andy Marshall, representing Bawburgh, came in with the winning score of 69 with a bogey-free round spiced by an eagle and a birdie. The eagle came at the downwind par-5 sixth with a three wood followed by a rescue iron to 2 feet. He saved par after driving into the trees at the ninth and birdied the par-5 13th.
The winds eased and the players stayed dry. Afterwards Marshall said: "The course was as good as Sunningdale as far as I'm concerned."
The runners-up, with two-under-par 70s, were Sam Forgan, Paul Maddy and Neil Mitchell.
Paul Maddy's dad, Alan, has been elected President of the ProAm Series and he shared the duties at the presentations with organiser Gary Kitley.
Andy Marshall's winner's speech, watched by Alan Maddy.
The third round of Thetford's Winter League was held on Sunday with Neil Elers & Ashley Forbes combining for 44pts in the 4BBB competition. Peter Croker & John Ward were second with 42 and have taken up the running at the top of the overall table with 115pts. Tony Brooks & Dave Fitchett and Norrie Dickson & Brian Youngs are both on 109 with the best four scores from six rounds counting.
Sunday's scores: 44 Neil Elers (9) & Ashley Forbes (12); 42 Peter Croker (8) & John Ward (9); 41 Norrie Dickson (6) & Brian Youngs (9); Paul Waters (8) & Ian Ramsay (8); Derek Kneebone (14) & Terry Stephenson (11); Robert Bentley (12) & Dave Fawcett (10); Robert McGregor (14) & Steve Randall (12); 40 Ken Kirwan (18) & Richard Alger (6); Kevin Cooke (7) & Rob Taylor (5). Overall: 115 Croker/Ward; 109 Dickson/Youngs and Tony Brooks/Dave Fitchett; 107 Arron Gaskell/Nolan Guthrie; 106 Bryan Muggeridge/Jon Olpin; 105 Elers/Forbes and Ramsay/Waters.
Midweek Stableford: 37pts Michael Gutherson (12); 35 Gareth Mills (5); 34 Oliver Coulter (12) and Alan Hitchborn (13); 32 Maurice Anderson (10) and Tony Orsi (14); 31 Wayne Prigg (14); 30 John Barton (14); 29 Terry Blacktopp (6), Steve Locke (11) and Derek Smith (21).

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.