Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Course record and hole-in-one

Monday 23rd July 2018

Great day as best young golfers in the country visit Thetford

President's Day win for Graham

Tuesday 17th July 2018

Sloan win the Blue Flag competition

Sun shines on Bob's big day

Monday 9th July 2018

Visitor is within a foot of winning a car

Robert is Club Champion

Four-handicap Robert Setchell won the Neville Bishop Trophy and was crowned as Thetford Golf Club's Champion on Sunday.

Robert, who runs a guest house in Ely, returned cards of 75-78-153 to win by three from last year's junior captain, Dean Scott, who came in with 78-78-156. Dean, who plays off 9, had the consolation of taking the handicap prize with two nett 69s.
Robert said in his winner's speech that he had won the Junior Club Championship at Ely in 1971 when he was 11 and he has been trying to win a Club crown ever since then. He managed it at the age of 57.
Third place in the gross competition went to Robert Taylor (5) who had 81-77 for 158, beating seven-handicap Jack Chi Wai-chiu, who had 77-81, on countback.
Other gross scores: Matthew Harben 77-82-159; Paul Pearce 78-83-161; David Hudson 83-81-164; Mike Horley 82-82-164; David Ball 79-86-165; Ross Sanford 87-79-166; Gareth Mills 82-84-166; Iain Hamshaw 82-84-166; Steve Burridge 85-83-168; Matt Wabe 83-85-168;' Ray Hamilton 82-86-168; Daryl Breen 89-81-170; David Robinson 84-86-170; Robert Kingsley 82-88-170.
Nett scores: Dean Scott (9) 69-69-138; Steve Burridge (13) 72-70-142; Iain Hamshaw (11) 71-73-144; David Robinson (13) 71-73-144; Jack Chi Wai-chiu (7) 70-74-144; Robert Setchell (4) 71-74-145; Robert Kingsley (12) 70-76-146; Matt Harben (6) 71-76-147; Robert Taylor (5) 76-72-148; Paul Pearce (6) 72-77-149; David Hudson (7) 76-74-150; Arron Gaskell (17) 79-73-152; Stuart McGill (11) 78-74-152; Mike Horley (6) 78-78-152; Stephen Duncan (14) 75-77-152; Ray Hamilton (8) 74-78-152; Glenn Beardsall (17) 71-81-152.
Below: 2017 Club Champion Robert Setchell (right) with Handicap Cup winner Dean Scott (left) and Club Captain Trevor Wignall.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.