Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Steve & Mike are new leaders

Monday 10th December 2018

Excellent score of 38pts in foursomes moves them to the top

Richard is our President for 2019

Thursday 6th December 2018

Chris White is awarded Life Membership

Every One a Winner - including charity

Monday 3rd December 2018

A busy Saturday at the Club with 120 players and charity cheque presentations

County Scratch trophy is retained

After an unbelievable recovery to beat Bawburgh in the morning semi-final, Thetford went on to beat King’s Lynn in the final at Eaton on Sunday to make it back-to-back wins in the Norfolk CGU Scratch Cup.

Team Captain Kevin Cooke said: “Credit to all the players in performing under great pressure. Big respect. Thanks to all players and supporters – it is a team game and they all helped.”

It was an amazing escape against Bawburgh.

The format is five singles matches and Thetford were trailing 2-1 in matches and were also behind in the last two games on the course.

Playing the 17th John Stapleton was two down and Paul Pearce was one down.

The Bawburgh players just needed to halve one of those remaining holes to win the overall contest - the Thetford players had to win all four holes just to gain a play-off.

Stapleton won the 17th and the 18th to halve his match and keep Thetford hopes alive.

Pearce – known to his team-mates as Buddha – rolled in a 25-foot putt on the 17th for a winning birdie to make his match all square.

At the 18th his drive clipped a tree and dropped down 235 yards from the hole. A career 5-wood to 15ft answered the pressure brilliantly and his opponent came up just short. Pearce had a chance to win it with his birdie putt, but just missed – and his opponent was also just off target with his par putt. Pearce won the match one up and the overall score was 2½-2½.

Iain Yule, who had won the top match, returned to the course for the play-off and held his nerve to win on the first extra hole.

That amazing momentum swing stayed with Thetford as they secured a 3½-1½ win over King’s Lynn in the afternoon final to keep the trophy in Thetford’s cabinet. After Yule finished all square in the top match, Giles Evans was five up with five to play but only won on the 18th. Stapleton won his match by a comfortable 3/2 while Farnham just lost out on the final green. It was Pearce who made sure of the overall win with a 3/2 win in the bottom contest.

Cooke went on to say: “The team performed heroics in the morning match v Bawburgh. The golfing gods had favoured them for most of the morning with various things going their way – until the very end when our players showed the character and nerve needed to get over the line to win.”

He also thanked the team’s supporters, particularly Club Captain Trevor Wignall, committee member Mike Horley, Past Captain Richard Goodenough and House Manager Phil Beer, as well as Jason Taylor and Gareth Mills who played in earlier rounds to help Thetford reach finals day.

The win came in the same week as the Club’s purchase of the Thetford course was confirmed – what a great double for Thetford Golf Club!

Thetford are NCGU Scratch Trophy winners for the second year running. Pictured below after the final at Eaton are (from left): Graham Turner (NCGU President), Steve Locke (competition organiser), Iain Yule, Giles Evans, Kevin Cooke (team captain), John Stapleton, Paul Pearce and Ian Farnham.





Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.