Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Winning start for Farnham & Horsburgh

Monday 12th November 2018

Foursomes pair lead the way with 38pts

David is the Left-handed champ

Monday 29th October 2018


Owen is champion of champions

Tuesday 16th October 2018

Level par round earns a cut in handicap

Sun shines on Bob's big day

Thetford Club Captain Bob Pearson held his Charity Day on Saturday with 120+ players basking in glorious sunny weather.

The scorched fairways were running fast and as a result the course played short - and there were some impressive scores.
The winning team from Market Harborough finished in style - two of the four players had birdies for an additional eight Stableford points and a grand total of 98. Ashley York holed his putt for the longest putt on the final green to take a special prize while Andrew Hill chipped in from just off the green. The other team members were Kay York and Steve McCay. 
Second place went to Adam Grimshaw, Alex Grimshaw, Roy Bassil and Sue Gilbert (Colne Valley) with 92pts and third place went to Steve Plumb and Dave Monk (Saffron Walden) with Roger and Wendy Cook (Colne Valley) with 90. 
A further 17 teams had 80pts or more, which is very good going at Thetford.
A total of 43 clubs were represented but nobody won the Kia car which was on offer for a hole in one at the 11th, courtesy of EMG. Adam Grimshaw, a member of the team from Colne Valley which finished second, was within a foot of taking the car away - so near, and yet . . .
There were special prizes at every hole with a number of sponsors and partners making donations, including EMG, Greene King, Shire Food, Ben Burgess and the English Whisky Company.
The winners of the special prizes were:
1st Ged Hockey (Bedford & County); 2nd Glyn Roddy (Woodhall Spa); 3rd Chris White (Thetford); 4th James Nicholls (Bishop's Stortford); 5th John Moore (Clacton); 6th Wendy Cook (Colne Valley); 7th Steve Plumb (Saffron Walden); 8th Mark Tudor (Thetford); 10th Ian Shand (Bury St Edmunds); 11th Adam Grimshaw (Colne Valley); 12th David Fawcett (Thetford); 13th Mark Tudor (Thetford); 14th Wendy Cook (Colne Valley); 16th Paul Mines (Woodhall Spa); 17th Sue Gilbert (Colne Valley); 18th Ashley York (Market Harborough).


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.