Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Winning start for Farnham & Horsburgh

Monday 12th November 2018

Foursomes pair lead the way with 38pts

David is the Left-handed champ

Monday 29th October 2018


Owen is champion of champions

Tuesday 16th October 2018

Level par round earns a cut in handicap

Owen is 2018 Club champion

Owen Mills came out on top after a four-hole play-off on Sunday to win the Neville Bishop Trophy to be crowned as Thetford's club champion for 2018.
Owen, who is 23, works in the pro shop at Thetford and plays off a handicap of three. He had a first round 77 followed by a 76 in the afternoon for a nine-over-par total of 153. 
Jason Huggins, who plays off four, had the reverse scores with a 76 in the morning and a 77 after lunch.
They played holes 1, 2, 17 and 18 in the play-off. Owen took the advantage with a par at the 1st while Jason dropped a stroke but it was all square when Jason birdied the second.
At the par-5 17th Jason did well to scramble a par - but Owen, in the trees off the tee, found a gap and with a slight draw put his ball on the front of the green in two. A 35-ft putt gave him an eagle three and a decisive two-stroke lead. He drove into a bunker on the 18th, but came out and put his third on the green with two putts securing the title.
After losing out on the Scratch Championship trophy in the play-off, Jason was doubly unfortunate when he was pipped for the Handicap Trophy on a countback after 13-year-old Sam Devonport came in with 78-11-67 in the afternoon for a total of 145. Jason was also one-over par.
Two-handicap Josh Chamberlain, bitterly disappointed with his first-round 83, hit form in the afternoon with a level par 72, the best score of the day, to finish third on 155.
First-round co-leader Rob Taylor was fourth on 157 while 2016 champion Ross Sanford and defending champion Robert Setchell ended on 160 and 162 respectively. 
Final scores:
Gross: 153 Owen Mills 77-76 and Jason Huggins 76-77; 155 Josh Chamberlain 83-72; 157 Rob Taylor 76-81; 160 Ross Sanford 81-79; 161 Ian Ramsay 80-81; 162 Robert Setchell 78-84; 164 Oliver Spencer Kent 83-81 and Mike Horley 80-84; 166 Dean Scott 84-82, Gareth Mills 82-84, David Hudson 81-85 and Paul Pearce 81-85; 167 Sam Devonport 89-78 and Steve McKeown 85-82.
Handicap: 145 Sam Devonport (11) 78-67 and Jason Huggins (4) 72-73; 146 Tom Bullen (17) 77-69 ; 147 Simon Moore (14) 74-73, Owen Mills (3) 74-73 and Rob Taylor (5) 71-76; 149 Ian Ramsay (6) 74-75; 150 Zac Grayling (18) 76-74 and Matt Foulds (10) 74-76.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.