Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Blooming good back nine for Andrew

Monday 19th November 2018

Turkey Trot success with 37pts

Winning start for Farnham & Horsburgh

Monday 12th November 2018

Foursomes pair lead the way with 38pts

Owen is champion of champions

Tuesday 16th October 2018

Level par round earns a cut in handicap

David is the Left-handed champ

Thetford member David Sutton won the first Left-Handers' Championship at his own Club on Sunday.
David, playing off a handicap of 13, came in with 32 points which proved to be enough as conditions were tough on the par-6,851-yard course from the White tees.
He finished one point ahead of two more Thetford members, five-handicap Dean Scott and 18-handicap Nolan Guthrie. Nolan, who runs Mr G's bowling centre in Brandon, was the instigator and sponsor of the tournament.
The visitors prizes went to Dave Hornsby, a 12-handicap from Fynn Valley with 29pts, and Dave Simpkins, a 16-handicap from Lakeside Lodge with 27.
It is hoped that the competition will become established as an annual event and that more left-handers will be attracted to take part in the future.
King of the lefties: TDavid Sutton won Mr G's Left-Handers' Championship on Sunday
Have you ever seen an 11-ball on a golf course? That was the starting point for Sunday's Pro shop Shootout at Thetford.
The 11 lowest-handicap golfers at the Club who were available were invited to take part and they all teed off at the 1st hole. The player with highest score dropped out. If there was a tie there was a chip-off to decide who went through - and who dropped out.
Play continued from the 1st to the 5th holes, and then back to the 1st. One by one they were eliminated until there were just three left on the 4th tee - David Clarke, Matt Harben and Mike Horley.

Two drives on the penultimate hole were nicely on the fairway but Horley was blocked out a little down the right-hand side. A Seve-like shot from Horley left him 15 feet from the hole with the other two also on the green. With Horley and Harben in for par, it looked as though another chip-off was looming . . . but Clarke missed his first short putt of the day for a bogey five.
On the final hole Horley and Harben both missed the green with their approach shots. After leaving himself a very tricky downhill six-footer, Horley calmly rolled it in for a par while Harben followed a delightful chip from the side of the green with a three-footer.

That meant the first Shootout winner would be decided by a Chip-off. 
As Harben was the lower handicapper he went first and hit a great chip to three feet, which left Horley under pressure. He did have the benefit of watching Harben's chip break to the left, which left him in good stead as he calmly chipped up to 18 inches to claim the title. Well done, Mike.
Caption: Shootout finalists Matt Harben (left) and Mike Horley. Mike emerged as the winner after a chip-off after 10 holes.
Thetford's October Stableford attracted a bumper field of 71 players and despite the course playing to its full length there were two super scores to win the two divisions.
Seven-handicap Robbie O'Brien was in sparkling form with three birdies against four bogeys after 17 holes. Even with a double-bogey six at the last he came in with 40pts to win Division One by five points. Matt Wabe (6) and Doug Stephen (10) were next with 35.
Jon Daly (20) also had 40pts to win Division Two, with Malcolm Fleet (18) next with 37.
Final scores:
Division One: 40 Robbie O'Brien (7); 35 Matt Wabe (6) and Doug Stephen (10); 33 Martin Jackson (13); 32 Jason Huggins (4), Peter Allott (6), David Sutton (13) and Peter Martin (9); 31 Neil Elers (10); 30 Robert Kingsley (12), Tim McAlinden (11) and David Haynes (13); 29 Shaun Langham (6) and Brian How (11).
Division Two: 40 Jon Daly (20); 37 Malcolm Fleet (18); 33 John Tapp (21) and Will Brown (18); 32 Glenn Beardsall (15); 30 Jim Sanford (18) and Jon Olpin (20); 29 Tom Price (15) and Bryan Reece (15); 28 Ged Davey (14); 27 Andy Vassallo (16), Terry Pettitt (17), Adam Stone (19) and Kevin Stannard (19).

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.