Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Every One a Winner - including charity

Monday 3rd December 2018

A busy Saturday at the Club with 120 players and charity cheque presentations

From the bottom to the top

Monday 26th November 2018

Glenn & Graham turn things around in four-ball round

Blooming good back nine for Andrew

Monday 19th November 2018

Turkey Trot success with 37pts

Richard is our President for 2019

The 2018 AGM on Wednesday December 5 was attended by 70 members in the Clubhouse while there were 83 apologies for absence.

Richard Goodenough was elected as President for 2019 when David Sutton, who had also been proposed, withdrew his nomination.

Chris White was elected as a Life Member after Jon Congdon, the retiring Chairman of the Board of Directors, made a heart-felt proposal. Jon suggested that without Chris's intervention when he stood as Chairman of the Club at the 2011 AGM "it is unlikely that TGC would still exist, let alone be in the strong and healthy position it is now." Chris has continued to serve the Club as Chairman, acting Secretary and Treasurer since 2014. Last night he stood down as Treasurer after five years. His Treasurer's Report and the financial statement for the six months to 31 March 2018, which had been submitted to Companies House, were adopted along with the six-month Profit & Loss account up to the end of September 2018. Paul Garnham was elected as Treasurer for 2019.

The other officers elected were: Mike Horley as Club Captain and Rob Mill as Vice-Captain and Mary Neal's position on the Board of Directors following her appointment as Ladies' Captain was confirmed.

The proposal to amend Article 7.2 (reducing the number of years a President can serve to three years) was passed, but the proposal to amend Article 7.4 (referring to the process of electing Captains and Vice-Captains) was withdrawn in order to allow the Board to reconsider the exact wording.

The reports issued by 2018 Captains Bob Pearson and Margaret Hayward as well as Manager Malcolm Grubb, were all accepted without any questions and no items were raised under Any Other Business.

Anne McHarg, who stood down after three years as President, was presented with a bouquet of flowers in appreciation of the time and effort she has given to the Club.

The meeting closed at 7.40pm.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.