Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Ross is Champion of Champions

Monday 14th October 2019

Sparkling round of gross 74 wins final trophy of the golfing year

Green fees to go up

Tuesday 1st October 2019

Visitors to pay more

Left-handers go free

Friday 13th September 2019

Club members can bid for left-handers' title without an entry fee

Texas Scramble won with nett 55.2

The Champagne Breakfast competition is one of the most popular of the year - and the winning score was a spectacular 55.2 after a Texas Scramble round that included 10 birdies and two eagles. 

Mark Henfield, Paul Pearce, Kevin Cooke & Club House Manager Phil Beer combined to trim six strokes off par for the front nine and a further eight strokes off par for the back nine, when they had eagles at the 13th and 17th.

Runners-up were another team of single-figure players, Ian Farnham, Matt Harben, Gareth Mills & Ross Sanford with 60-2.1=57.9. They also had an eagle, at the par-5 sixth. 

Third place went to an all-ladies team of Dawn Dixon, Jess Dixon, Kath Malvern & Wendy Puttock with 64-5.6=58.4.

There was a shotgun start at 7am and after the round there was a breakfast along with fizz for all the players.

Other scores: 62-2.7=59.3 Peter Allott, Matt Wabe, Matt West & Ray Hamilton; 64-4.6=59.4 Steve Campbell, Martin Jackson, Maurice Anderson & Andrew Bloom; 64-4.6=59.4 Shaun Langham, David Robinson, Carl Williams & Richard Scott; 66-6.2=59.8 Dave Goddard, Mick Maskell, Terry Pettitt & Bryan Reece; 68-8.0=60.0 Kevin P Stannard, Brian Johnson, Michael Ford & Lee Gaught; 65-4.7=60.3 Graham Sloan, Paul Hensby, David Haynes & Nigel Halls; 65-4.6=60.4 Barry Brackenborough, Ged Davey, Andy Dunn & Mark Tudor. There were 21 teams in action.


Another favourite on the Thetford fixture card is the Club Summer Meeting.

This is an event which is a thank-you to all those players who support competitions throughout the year.

For one event a year there is no entry fee - all the prizemoney is taken from the Club's Prize Fund. 

This year's winner is Graham Sloan with an impressive 41pts. He also won the PGA Staysure qualifying competition for over-50s, which gives him a place as Professional Stuart Smith's partner in the regional final at Orsett GS on July 22.

Graham, who plays off 12, started steadily with an eagle-three at the 6th the highlight of a front nine worth 21pts. A rock solid finish with six pars in a row gave him 20 on the back nine.

Ashley Forbes finished second with 37pts off a handicap of 11. He pipped Shaun Burton (17) on countback.

Other scores: 35 Gareth Mills (5), Brian Youngs (11), Steve Burridge (12), Peter Croker (8) and Tim McAlinden (12); 34 Phil Beer (9) and Matt West (5); 33 Dean Scott (5), Peter Stelling (13), James Tebbit (21), John Baldwin (11) and Robert Bentley (13); 32 Mark Henfield (5), Robert Herkest (13), Michael Callinan (17), Ian Farnham (6), Paul Hensby (14) and Ross Sanford (5).


Richard Alger is Thetford's senior champion after winning the Seniors Medal Championship with a nett 68. Richard, who plays off a handicap of nine, went round in gross 77 including birdies at the 6th and 11th.

Ken Kirwan was runner-up with 92-22-70, winning a three-way tie on countback. Paul Huggins (84-14-70) and John Barto (81-11-70) were third and fourth.

Other scores: 71 Ian Bell (15), Bob Pateman (8) and Maurice Anderson (10); 73 Gary Woodhouse (10); 74 Martin Eeles (10), David Sutton (10) and Brian Maiden (20); 75 John Balster (15) and Steve Cobb (11).


Sheila Spreadborough won the ladies' Maeer Salver with 35pts off a handicap of 19. She beat Sue Pitcher (11) and Anita Coteman (19) on countback. 

Other scores: 31pts Jan Bone (13), Liz Wigg (14) and Jenny Rowe (20); 30 Di McBride (28); 28 Sandra Gordon (37) and Rosemary Bloom (18); 27 Liz Robinson (14) and Thea Towell (31).

Thetford Ladies are battling against relegation from Division Three of the NLCGA Inter-Club League. After just one draw from their first five matches they recorded a fine win at home to Sheringham 2. Sue Saunders, Wendy Puttock, Liz Wigg and Jenny Rowe won their matches while Jan Bone ended up all square as Thetford won 4 1/2-2 1/2.


June Seniors Stableford: 39pts John Tapp (20); 38 Martin Jackson (14); 36 Roy Francis (20); 35 Bob Fletcher (9), Dave Smith (19), Paul Huggins (14) and Steve Campbell (14); 34 Richard Alger (8), Andy Rooney (19), Brian Maiden (20), Gary Tilbrook (16) and Bob Pateman (8); 33 Bob Richards (23), John Carpenter (18), Frank Benn (22), Ian Brown (13), Andrew Bloom (9) and Doug Atkins (21); 32 Steve Cobb (11), Norman Hargreaves (19), Kevin G Stannard (27), Terry Blacktopp (6) and Gary Woodhouse (10).


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.