Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Muddy cleans up

Tuesday 23rd June 2020

Strong finish secures Sidgwick Cup success

First TGC trophy for Chris

Monday 15th June 2020

Juster Cup signals a return to competition play

Mike's Captain's Day a big success

Mike Horley's Captain's Day was a big success on Saturday with 75 men taking part in a Stableford competition plus 14 ladies. It was a perfect day for golf and everybody enjoyed the refreshments provided on the 11th tee. Club Chairman Les Dewey was on duty there and collected another £165.15 for Mike's 2019 Charity, the East Anglian Air Ambulance.

There were some very good scores and Jon Olpin took home the top prize of a Motocaddy electric trolley after returning 42pts off his handicap of 19. He finished one point ahead of four-handicap Gareth Thomas, who went round in an excellent gross 71, one under par. Barry Brackenborough (11) was next with 40 and Mick Maskell (14) beat Shaun Burton (16) on countback for fourth place with 39.

Other scores: 38 Jake Barker (6) and Paul Pearce (6); 37 Richard Scott (12), Dave Smith (19), Phil Beer (9) and Ken Kirwan (21); 36 Ray Hamilton (10) and Richard Ellis (18); 35 Peter Croker (8), Robert Setchell (6), Dean Scott (5), John Barton (11), Andy Dunn (13), Andy Vassallo (17) and Terry Pettitt (18).

The ladies' winner was July Arthur. The eight-handicapper scored 35pts, beating three others on countback. Barbara Bailey (32), Pam Ellis (30) and Heather Keeble (13) were the unfortunate players to miss out.

Other scores: 32 Sheila Spreadborough (19); 29 Fiona White (10) and Carolyn Beaumont (14); 28 Lorelle Turner (30).

After the golf there was a buffet and disco on the evening when the presentations were made.

Mike Horley is flanked by Men's winner Jon Olpin and Ladies' winner Julie Arthur after the Captain's Day competition at Thetford.

The Men's Centenary Trophy at Thetford was washed out earlier in the year and it was another wet morning for the re-arrangement. This time things improved and the competition was completed with Chris Clark taking the top prize with 87-17-70.

He finished one stroke ahead of Jon Congdon (81-10-71) with David Fawcett third (83-11-72).

Other scores: 74 Ross Sanford (5), Dean Scott (5) and Martin Jackson (13); 76 Michael Gooch (20), Jason Huggins (4) and Gareth Mills (5); 77 Jim Sanford (18), Robert Herkes (13), Gary Scott (8), Pat Gould (12) and Richard Scott (12).

Kath Malvern won the Ladies' Centenary Trophy with 80-7-73, followed by Heather Keeble (95-14-81) and Janice Fossey (96-13-83).

The Carter Rose Bowls are the prize for a mixed Stableford event at Thetford and this year's winners are Jane Herrington & David Newstead with 35pts. 

Other scores: 34 Karen Cox & Richard Scott; 31 Phil Beer & Sharon Caws; 30 Gordon Stuart & Fiona White and Kath Malvern & Trevor Wignall.

The Anniversary Cup is a summer eclectic for seniors and this year's winner is Graham Pitcher with 66-5-61. Other scores: David Sutton 68-5.5-62.5; Brian Maiden 73-10-63; Steve Campbell 71-7.5-63.5; John Barton 69-5.5-63.5; Martin Jackson 70-6.5-63.5; Maurice Anderson 69-4.5-64.5; Mike Smith 72-6.5-65.5.

Other results.

July Midweek Stableford: 39pts Wayne Prigg (14) and Matt Harben (5); 37 Paul Macrow (25) and Rob Taylor (5); 36 Gareth Mills (5) and Graham Kemp (13); 35 Derek Smith (21); 34 Ian Brown (13), Steve Cobb (10) and Michael Pearce (18); 33 Richard Plaistow (9), Brian How (13) and Maurice Anderson (9).

July Midweek Medal: 90-21-69 Derek Smith, 85-13-72 Robert Bentley, 78-6-72 Jake Barker, 91-17-74 Andy Vassallo, 98-24-74 Chris Tilly, 85-10-75 Ian Edmundson, 91-16-75 Chris Clark, 95-19-76 Ian Gosling, 86-10-76 Trevor Wignall.




Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.