Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Costly three-putt for Giles

Friday 17th January 2020

Thetford pair finish third in ProAm

Fifth ace for Andrew

Tuesday 14th January 2020

Perfect stroke to ace the 11th

Winter League win for David & Mick

Tuesday 14th January 2020

Brooks & Sanford extend their overall lead

Owen retains Club Championship

Weather conditions were ideal for the Club Championships on Sunday September 1 and some excellent golf was played with some excellent scoring. Owen Mills retained the Neville Bishop Trophy with rounds of 73 and 76, four better than his winning score last year and the best total in the Championship since Dan Traher's 146 in 2014. Jason Huggins pipped Josh Chamberlain for second place after both returned totals of 151. It was the same 1-2-3 as last year. Gareth Mills moved up to fourth overall with the best round of the afternoon, a 73.

Paul Smith was the Handicap Cup winner with 72-69-141 playing off 20 and he had his handicap cut to 18. He beat Matt Wabe on countback with Club Captain Mike Horley third on handicap with 142, including the best nett score of the morning when he had 74-7-67. Others to beat their handicap on the day were Zac Grayling and Paul Pearce with 70s in the morning when Ray Hamilton had a 71 and Dean Scott with 71 in the afternoon. Brian Youngs, Michael Gooch, Ross Sanford, Robert Herkes, Robert Setchell and Kevin Cooke all had one round of nett 72. There was a field of 63. Congratulations and/or commiserations to all who took part.

Final scores

Gross: 73-76-149 Owen Mills; 74-77-151 Jason Huggins and Josh Chamberlain; 80-73-153 Gareth Mills; 78-75-153 Matthew Wabe; 74-82-156 Mike Horley; 83-77-160 Ross Sanford; 79-82-161 David Clarke; 76-85-161 Paul Pearce; 86-76-162 Dean Scott; 80-82-162 James Clough; 81-83-164 Matthew Harben; 83-83-166 Dave Hudson; 90-77-167 Robert Setchell; 83-86-169 Shaun Langham; 82-87-169 Matt West; 87-84-171 John Hopkins; 83-88-171 Brian Youngs; 85-87-172 Andrew Horsburgh; 81-92-173 Ray Hamilton; 80-94-174 Kevin Cooke; 79-96-175 Mark Henfield.

Handicap: 72-69-141 Paul Smith (20); 72-69-141 Matthew Wabe (6); 67-75-142 Mike Horley (7); 70-73-143 Jason Huggins (4); 76-69-145 Gareth Mills (4); 72-75-147 Josh Chamberlain (2); 72-75-147 Owen Mills (1); 76-73-149 John Hopkins (11); 72-77-149 Brian Youngs (11); 70-79-149 Paul Pearce (6); 78-72-150 Ross Sanford (5); 73-77-150 Michael Gooch (20); 74-77-151 David Clarke (5); 81-71-152 Dean Scott (5); 76-76-152 Dave Hudson (7); 75-77-152 James Clough (5); 72-80-152 Robert Herkes (13).

2019 Club Champion Owen Mills with Club Captain Mike Horley and Handicap Cup winner Paul Smith.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.