Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

There are no news items at the moment

Left-handers lead the way

Gareth Mills & Dean Scott combined well for 38pts to win Round Five of Thetford Golf Club's Winter League on Sunday January 26.

A strong finish, with birdies at the 12th and 13th adding sparkle to a second nine of one-under-par 36, elevated the two left-handers to the top of the tree.

They finished one ahead of Ian Farnham & Andrew Horsburgh, who had birdies at the 10th, 15th and 16th. Unfortunately for them there were also three bogies on the back nine, which they played in level par.

Newcomers Phil & Dan Smailes were third with 36pts including birdies at the 6th, 10th and 17th.

Overall leaders Tony Brooks & Ross Sanford did not play on Sunday but they are still firm favourites for the trophy. They have 154 points with Neil Elers & Ashley Forbes their closest challengers with 146. 

The format is the best four scores out of six rounds and they have their points in the bank. Mills & Scott could yet launch a last-gasp bid for the crown as they are on 108pts from three rounds and will aim for 46pts or better in the last round of the competition, a Four-Ball Better-Ball on Sunday February 16.

Scores: 38pts Gareth Mills & Dean Scott; 37 Ian Farnham & Andrew Horsburgh; 36 Phil Smailes & Dan Smailes; 35 Barry Allen & Andrew Bremner and Mick Gooch & Darren Ward; 34 Josh Chamberlain & Brian How; 33 Peter Croker & John Ward and Scott Maketis & Ian Stone.

Overall: 154 Tony Brooks & Ross Sanford; 146 Neil Elers & Ashley Forbes; 145 Josh Chamberlain & Brian How and Peter Croker & John Ward; 142 Mark Henfield & Paul Pearce; 141 Phil Beer & Kevin Cooke; 140 Barry Allen & Andrew Bremner and Ian Farnham & Andrew Horsburgh.

January Midweek Stableford: 38pts Shaun Phillips (13) on countback from Bob Pateman (8); 37 Graham Hurrell (12), Ian Ramsay (4) and David Hudson (8); 36 Steve Duncan (12); 35 Shaun Burton (16) & Geoff Allan (20); 34 Paul Huggins (13) and Terry Young (11); 33 Trevor Hucklesby (24) and Paul Macrow (25).


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.