Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

Matt is the Iron Man

Thursday 24th September 2020

Mark misses out on countback

Three birdies in a row for Matt

Matt Wabe's nett 72 was good enough to win Division One of the March Medal at Thetford Golf Club. The five-handicapper may have thought he was out of contention when he had a triple-bogey seven at the second, but his round caught fire with three birdies in a row from the 13th as he played the last nine holes in one-under-par.

That was just enough to beat new member Chris Robson by one stroke. Chris, who plays off plus one, had three birdies of his own offset by three bogeys for a gross score of 72. He beat five-handicap Mark Henfield on countback.

The difficult conditions on Sunday were reflected in the  Division Two scores where Derek Smith won with a nett 74, two over par. Derek plays off 18 and beat Nolan Guthrie (18) on countback.

Final scores. Division One: 72 Matt Wabe (5); 73 Chris Robson (plus 1) and Matt Henfield (5); 74 Bryan Muggeridge (9), Tim McAlinden (12), Anthony Lee (6) and Brian How (12); 75 Darren Ward (5) and Neil Elers (10); 76 Ian Edmundson (11), Rob Taylor (5), Terry Blacktopp (7) and Steve Burridge (12). Division Two: 74 Derek Smith (18) on countback from Nolan Guthrie (18); 75 Jon Olpin (17); 76 Richard Towning (22), Paul Hensby (13), Peter Stelling (13) and Mike Smith (14); 77 Steve Forbes (23), Glenn Beardsall (15) and Robert Herkes (13).

Anita Coteman (19 handicap) won Division One of the Ladies' February Stableford with 32pts, beating Ladies' Captain Sue Pitcher (11) on countback. Third place went to Rosemary Bloom (19). Other results. Division Two: 30 Judith Heffer (23); 25 Justine Twogood (29). Division Three: 29 Pam Ellis (31). 

February Midweek Stableford: 39pts Barry Tredgett (19); 37 Brian Maiden (19) and Paul Wright (24); 34 Mark Heffer (10); 33 Neil Elers (10) and Paul Waters (10); 32 Bryan Muggeridge (9), Graham Hurrell (12), John Baldwin (10) and Shaun Phillips (12); 31 Paul Pearce (5), Steve Duncan (12), Terry Blacktopp (7), Graham Kemp (14), Kevin Ulla (13), David Sutton (11) and Ross Sanford (4).

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.