Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

There are no news items at the moment

Dan's third Club Championship win

Dan Traher, Club Champion at Thetford in 2011 and 2014, secured his third title on Sunday with a three-stroke win over defending champion Owen Mills and Dean Scott.

Twenty-six-year-old Traher had steady rounds of 75 and 73 to finish ahead of Mills (76-75) and Scott (74-77). Scott had the consolation of winning the Handicap trophy with one-under-par 143.

In the morning round Roger Nicholson rolled back the years to lead the way with a gross 71, the lowest round of the day. Roger was champion in 1994-95 and again in 2000-01. He had birdies at the 5th, 8th, 10th and 16th but two dropped shots at the 18th spoiled his card.

His hopes of regaining the trophy after 19 years faded as he collected 10 bogeys in the afternoon but it was a great effort by the 56-year-old, who finished fourth overall and second on handicap.

Dean Scott was Roger's nearest challenger in the morning, the 21-year-old left-hander returning a 74. Dan Smailes and Dan Traher both had 75s with Owen Mills next on 76. John Hopkins had a fine round of 78-11-67 and then Matt Wabe, Ian Ramsay and Andy Cunningham were on 79. Plus-one handicap Chris Robson left himself a lot to do with an opening round of 80, the same as Jack Nicholson (Roger's son), Gareth Mills, Ross Sanford, Josh Driver and Matt West.

As Roger Nicholson dropped back in the afternoon Traher secured birdies at the 3rd, 8th and 15th against two bogeys and a double-bogey at the 18th in his decisive round of 73. Chris Robson moved up the field with a 74 while Mills could not make much progress with his 75.

Final scores: Gross - 148 Dan Traher 75-73; 151 Owen Mills 76-75 and Dean Scott 74-77; 152 Roger Nicholson 71-81; 154 Chris Robson 80-74; 155 Dan Smailes 75-80; 157 Matt West 80-77; 158 Andy Cunningham 79-79; 159 Ian Ramsay 79-80; 160 Ross Sanford 80-80; 164 David Clarke 84-80; 165 Paul Waters 81-84; 166 Matt Wabe 79-87 and John Hopkins 78-88; 167 Paul Pearce 84-83, David Hudson 84-83 and Jason Huggins 81-86; 168 Ryan Vickers 87-81; 169 Phil Smailes 83-86; 170 Jack Nicholson 80-90.

Handicap - 143 Dean Scott (4); 144 Roger Nicholson (4); 146 Dan Traher (1) and John Hopkins (11); 147 Paul Waters (9); 148 Ryan Vickers (10) and David Robinson (13); 149 Matt West (4) and Owen Mills (1); 150 Ross Sanford (5).

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.