Thetford Golf Club

Latest News:

There are no news items at the moment

Five-way tie for top prize

Rob Mill's Captain's Day on Saturday saw plenty of players (67 pairs) and an exciting finish.

The best score in the competition came from Club Professional Stuart Smith and his partner Sian Miller. After a steady front nine their better-ball score was 18pts; then, playing Guildford Greensomes, they took full advantage of Stuart playing two shots followed by 36-handicap Sian to play the nine holes in 38 strokes, one over par, for 25pts and a total of 43. 

They were not eligible for the prizes so the top prize was decided on countback after six pairs finished with 40pts. It could not have been much closer at the top with Matt Harben & Rob Taylor pipping James Buhleman and his guest Tony Thaxton from Middleton Park over the last three holes. Robert Setchell & Terry Ryan (Ely City) were third, followed by Barry Brackenborough & Ged Davey, Rob Mill & Neil Smits (Gog Magog) and Tristan Adams & Nittaya Adams.

Other scores: 39pts Dan Traher & Jason Huggins; 38 Jack Foreman & Nigel Richards (Royal Norwich), Roger Cook & Wendy Cook, Peter Allott & Chris Lamb (Royal Norwich), Mark Henfield & Paul Pearce, Glyn Manning & Adele Pearce and Glenn Beardsall & Graham Sloan.

On Sunday the first of the winter Medals was played with Peter Allott taking the Division One win with a nett 72, beating 11-handicap Rafe Ashby on countback. Nine-handicap Peter was announced as Jon Congdon's Vice-Captain for 2021 earlier in the week. Jack Nicholson (4) was third with 74. Other scores: 75 Nick Hill (10); 77 Andrew Bremner (11), Sam Sheppard (11), Steve Duncan (9) and David Robinson (12).

Division Two: 71 Malcolm Fleet (18); 72 Mick Gooch (19) and Tom Price (15); 73 Adrian Sheppard (17) and Robert McMeekin (13); 75 Simon Moore (15) and Scott Marketis (17); 76 Doug Bedford (21).

The Anniversary Cup is a summer eclectic competition for seniors. This year's winner is Martin Jackson, playing off 15, who had a nett total of 59.5.

Other scores: 62 Steve Campbell (16) and Steve Cobb (12); 62.5 Terry Blacktopp (7), David Sutton (11) and Mark Heffer (11); 64 Steve McIlroy (20); 64.5 John Clark (13); 65 Maurice Anderson (10), John Barton (10) and Martin Hill (20); 65.5 Graham Pitcher (11).

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.